Submit to the 2014 Competition

Guidelines and submission instructions are available on the CurCom website.

Submission deadline: Dec. 6

Excellence in Exhibition Label Writing Competition

The annual label writing competition is moving into its second decade. Created by Brian Peterson in 2002 and revived and led by John Russick and Emily Nordstrom since 2008, the competition has recognized outstanding and innovative label writing in museums, zoos, aquariums, universities and libraries. 

The Curators Committee (CurCom) sponsors this competition in cooperation with EdCom and NAME. A panel of label experts, selected by the committees and the competition organizers, determines the work to recognize.

Each year, the competition inspires a gathering of writers and editors to discuss technique, style, and process at the Alliance annual meeting’s Marketplace of Ideas. It has also generated an archive for current and aspiring museum professionals to use as they strive to write and edit exhibition label copy.

The 2014 Competition

For 2014, Jenny-Sayre Ramberg will return as a juror to represent EdCom and be joined by three new jurors: Benjamin Filene, representing CurCom; Debbie Mack, representing NAME; and Beth Kaminsky, representing the 2013 recognized writers and editors. John Russick, director of curatorial affairs at the Chicago History Museum, will continue to organize and manage the competition with the help of Kevin Bicknell, graduate student in Museology at the University of Washington in Seattle.