Submit to the 2015 Competition

Submission Deadline: Dec. 14, 2014

Past Recipients


Anthony Pennay

John Cotton Dana Award for Leadership

This award recognizes an individual, other than someone working directly with museum education programs, for efforts on behalf of public education and community service.

Eligible Nominees

  • museum directors
  • curators
  • researchers
  • exhibit designers
  • school administrators
  • government officials
  • those in foundations, corporations and training programs

Only practicing museum educators are ineligible since this award is designed to recognize those outside the field of museum education who exhibit outstanding leadership and promote the educational responsibility and capacity of museums.

The John Cotton Dana Award recognizes exemplary leadership. It is therefore awarded on an occasional basis (not annually) as extraordinary leadership is brought to the attention of the nominating committee through the nomination process.

Established  in 1991, by EdCom, in tribute to John Cotton Dana, founder and director of the Newark Museum. During his life, he worked incessantly to make the museum a center of community service whose chief function was to be educational and interpretive.



  • Lori Fogarty, director and CEO, Oakland Museum of California (OMCA) 

    Fogarty has cultivated an institution-wide focus on the shared goal of “making more inspiring cultural experiences more accessible to more people and more different kinds of people.” In her time at OMCA, She has aligned resources around fostering a meaningful visitor experience, prioritized a participatory approach, and conceived a radical restructuring away from a typical hierarchical organizational chart to a flat structure composed of cross-functional teams.