New Accreditation Commission Selection Process to Debut

Reinvention of Accreditation leads to more formal, inclusive, and transparent process

The guiding principles of the accreditation reinvention initiative the Alliance has undertaken over the past five years include making accreditation significantly different—not just tweaked—and truly making it the field’s program by including more direct stakeholder involvement.

At its February 2014 meeting, the Alliance board approved a new formal, inclusive and transparent nomination and selection process that increases the collaboration between the Alliance and the discipline-specific organizations (DSOs).

Key features of the new process are the use of a nominating committee that includes rotating representation by two DSOs each year, and a field-wide open call for nominations.

Members of the inaugural Nominating Committee are:

  • Douglas Jones, director, Florida Museum of Natural History; Alliance Board member; Nominating Committee Chair
  • Burt Logan, executive director and CEO, Ohio History Connection; Accreditation Commission Chair
  • Mary Sue Sweeney Price, director emeritus, The Newark Museum; Accreditation Commissioner
  • Carole Charnow, president and CEO, Boston Children's Museum; Association of Children’s Museums (ACM) appointed representative
  • James Vaughan, executive director, Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission, Association for State and Local History (AASLH) appointed representative
More information about Commissioner qualifications and the official nomination form will be released in late June on the Alliance website. Nominations will be accepted over the course of the summer and new Commissioners will be appointed by the Alliance board in the fall.

Media Contact

Dewey Blanton
Alliance Communications