Speak Up for Museums: The AAM Guide to Advocacy

Advocacy bookSmart, practical advice on how to be an effective advocate.

Congressional Awards

The Alliance presents awards to members of Congress who have demonstrated exemplary support for museums. Nominations are accepted from the museum field each year and awards are presented during Museums Advocacy Day events.

Use this form to submit a nomination by December 2.

Past Honorees


  • Sen. Patty Murray (D-WA) and Rep. Tim Murphy (R-PA)


  • Sen. Barbara Mikulski (D-MD), Sen. Roy Blunt (R-MO), Rep. Tom Cole (R-OK) and Rep. David Price (D-NC)


  • Sen. Tom Udall (D-NM) and Rep. Michael Grimm (R-NY)


  • Sen. Richard Durbin (D-IL), Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-UT), Rep. David McKinley (R-WV) and Rep. John Lewis (D-GA)


  • Sen. Richard Burr (R-NC), Sen. Daniel Inouye (D-HI), Rep. Aaron Schock (R-IL) and Rep. Xavier Becerra (D-CA)


  • Rep. Leonard Lance (R-NJ), Rep. John Larson (D-CT), Rep. Jan Schakowsky (D-IL), Sen. Tom Harkin (D-IA), Rep. Mike Simpson (R-ID) and Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)


  • Rep. Betty McCollum (D-MN), Rep. Louise Slaughter (D-NY), Sen. George Voinovich (R-OH), Rep. Todd Platts (R-PA), Sen. Lamar Alexander (R-TN), Sen. Jack Reed (D-RI) and Rep. Paul Tonko (D-NY)


  • Sen. Michael Enzi (R-WY), Sen. Edward Kennedy (D-MA) and Rep. Carolyn McCarthy (D-NY)