Advocacy Alert: July 8, 2011

Federal Funding Update: NEH and NEA Could Face Additional Cuts

Yesterday the House Appropriations Subcommittee on the Interior—which provides funding for the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) and the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH)—passed a bill including steep cuts for both agencies for FY12. Approved by an 8-5 vote, both the NEA and the NEH would be funded at $135.2 million, representing a $20 million cut from current funding and $11 million less than the President's FY12 request. 
The full House Appropriations Committee is slated to consider the bill early next week and is expected to adopt similar funding cuts. If your Representative sits on this committee, NOW is the time to call and ask him or her to OPPOSE any cuts to the NEA or the NEH. The House switchboard (202-225-3121) can transfer you to your members of Congress.

Members of the House Appropriations Committee:

  • Harold Rogers, Kentucky, Chairman C.W. Bill Young, Florida 
  • Jerry Lewis, California 
  • Frank R. Wolf, Virginia 
  • Jack Kingston, Georgia 
  • Rodney P. Frelinghuysen, New Jersey 
  • Tom Latham, Iowa 
  • Robert B. Aderholt, Alabama 
  • Jo Ann Emerson, Missouri 
  • Kay Granger, Texas 
  • Michael K. Simpson, Idaho 
  • John Abney Culberson, Texas 
  • Ander Crenshaw, Florida 
  • Denny Rehberg, Montana 
  • John R. Carter, Texas 
  • Rodney Alexander, Louisiana 
  • Ken Calvert, California 
  • Jo Bonner, Alabama 
  • Steven C. LaTourette, Ohio 
  • Tom Cole, Oklahoma 
  • Jeff Flake, Arizona 
  • Mario Diaz-Balart, Florida 
  • Charles W. Dent, Pennsylvania 
  • Steve Austria, Ohio 
  • Cynthia M. Lummis, Wyoming 
  • Tom Graves, Georgia 
  • Kevin Yoder, Kansas 
  • Steve Womack, Arkansas 
  • Alan Nunnelee, Mississippi
  • Norman D. Dicks, Washington, Ranking Member 
  • Marcy Kaptur, Ohio 
  • Peter J. Visclosky, Indiana 
  • Nita M. Lowey, New York 
  • José E. Serrano, New York 
  • Rosa L. DeLauro, Connecticut 
  • James P. Moran, Virginia 
  • John W. Olver, Massachusetts 
  • Ed Pastor, Arizona 
  • David E. Price, North Carolina 
  • Maurice D. Hinchey, New York 
  • Lucille Roybal-Allard, California 
  • Sam Farr, California 
  • Jesse L. Jackson, Jr., Illinois 
  • Chaka Fattah, Pennsylvania 
  • Steven R. Rothman, New Jersey 
  • Sanford D. Bishop, Jr., Georgia 
  • Barbara Lee, California 
  • Adam B. Schiff, California 
  • Michael M. Honda, California 
  • Betty McCollum, Minnesota