Advocacy Alert: April 1

Record Support in Congress for Museum Funding

Museum advocates: you did it again. Over the last few weeks, members of Congress had the opportunity to support funding for the Office of Museum Services (OMS) at the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) by signing letters calling for robust funding for OMS. This year, a record 132 Representatives and 30 Senators joined these letters, which are an important gauge of programs’ support in Congress when annual spending bills are being written.  

The groundwork for this year’s record-setting effort was laid at Museums Advocacy Day, when in-person requests were made in 350 congressional offices spanning all 50 states. Then, advocates around the country responded to Alliance Advocacy Alerts with more than 900 e-mails and calls to their legislators. Thank you to everyone who took action! 
“Museum advocates should be proud today; we are clearly being heard in the halls of Congress,” said Alliance President Ford W. Bell. “I hope that everyone will take one minute to publicly thank those legislators who signed on in support of our cause. I also want to congratulate our champions in Congress—Senator Gillibrand and Representatives Tonko, Lance, Slaughter, and McKinley—for their outstanding leadership on this issue.”

Make an Instant, Public Impact by Thanking Legislators on Social Media

Like anyone, legislators enjoy being told they’re doing a good job. But they love being told they’re doing a good job in public. So here’s the best way to thank your legislators:
  1. Use our Legislator Lookup page to find your legislators and their Facebook and Twitter accounts.
  2. Check the list at the bottom of this alert to see if your legislators (Senators and Representative) signed.
  3. Say “Thank You!” You can use our sample posts to get started. Be sure to use #museumsadvocacy.
    Also tag the Alliance and your legislators in your posts and tweets.
Sample Social Media Posts:

Facebook - Museums are essential! We join the American Alliance of Museums in thanking [Rep./Sen. _______________ ] for signing on to this year’s OMS letter and for your support of [your museum].
Facebook - [Your museum name] is essential in our community. We join the American Alliance of Museums in thanking [Rep./Sen. _______________ ] for signing this year’s OMS letter in support of funding for museums.
Twitter - [Your museum] thanks [Rep./Sen. _______________ ] for signing on to this year’s OMS letter! Museums are essential. #museumsadvocacy
Twitter - Thank you [Rep./Sen. _______________ ] for signing on to this year’s OMS letter and supporting [your museum name]! #museumsadvocacy
P.S. In addition to leading the fight for the Office of Museum Services, the Alliance also recently submitted supportive testimony to the House of Representatives subcommittee that funds the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH), the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA), the Smithsonian Institution, and historic preservation programs. Tell your legislators to support NEA and NEH funding today

     FY 2016 House OMS Letter Signers                                             FY 2016 Senate OMS Letter Signers

Alma Adams (D-NC)                         
Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)
Joyce Beatty (D-OH)   Richard Blumenthal (D-CT)
Xavier Becerra (D-CA)   Barbara Boxer (D-CA)
Donald Beyer Jr. (D-VA)   Sherrod Brown (D-OH)
Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)   Ben Cardin (D-MD)
Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR)   Christopher Coons (D-DE)
Robert Brady (D-PA)   Richard Durbin (D-IL)
Susan Brooks (R-IN)   Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)
Julia Brownley (D-CA)   Al Franken (D-MN)
Cheri Bustos (D-IL)   Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)
G. K. Butterfield (D-NC)   Martin Heinrich (D-NM)
Lois Capps (D-CA)   Mazie K. Hirono (D-HI)
Michael Capuano (D-MA)   Tim Kaine (D-VA)
Tony Cárdenas (D-CA)   Angus King (I-ME)
André Carson (D-IN)   Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)
Matt Cartwright (D-PA)   Patrick Leahy (D-VT)
Kathy Castor (D-FL)   Joe Manchin (D-WV)
Judy Chu (D-CA)   Robert Menendez (D-NJ)
David Cicilline (D-RI)   Christopher Murphy (D-CT)
Katherine Clark (D-MA)   Gary Peters (D-MI)
Yvette Clarke (D-NY)   Jack Reed (D-RI)
Wm. Lacy Clay (D-MO)   Bernie Sanders (I-VT)
Mike Coffman (R-CO)   Brian Schatz (D-HI)
Steve Cohen (D-TN)   Charles Schumer (D-NY)
Chris Collins (R-NY)   Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)
Gerald Connolly (D-VA)   Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)
John Conyers, Jr. (D-MI)   Jon Tester (D-MT)
Joe Courtney (D-CT)   Elizabeth Warren (D-MA
Danny Davis (D-IL)   Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)
Peter DeFazio (D-OR)   Ron Wyden (D-OR)
Diana DeGette (D-CO)        
John Delaney (D-MD)        
Theodore Deutch (D-FL)        
Debbie Dingell (D-MI)        
Lloyd Doggett (D-TX)        
Mike Doyle (D-PA)        
Donna Edwards (D-MD)        
Keith Ellison (D-MN)        
Renee Ellmers (R-NC)        
Eliot Engel (D-NY)        
Elizabeth Esty (D-CT)        
Chaka Fattah (D-PA)        
Bill Foster (D-IL)        
Marcia Fudge (D-OH)        
Tulsi Gabbard (D-HI)        
John Garamendi (D-CA)        
Alan Grayson (D-FL)        
Al Green (D-TX)        
Raul Grijalva (D-AZ)        
Luis Gutiérrez (D-IL)        
Alcee Hastings (D-FL)        
Denny Heck (D-WA)        
Brian Higgins (D-NY)        
James Himes (D-CT)        
Rubén Hinojosa (D-TX)        
Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC)        
Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX)        
Henry Johnson, Jr. (D-GA)        
William Keating (D-MA)        
Joe Kennedy (D-MA)        
Ron Kind (D-WI)        
Ann Kirkpatrick (D-AZ)        
Ann McLane Kuster (D-NH)        
Leonard Lance (R-NJ)        
James Langevin (D-RI)        
Brenda Lawrence (D-MI)        
Barbara Lee (D-CA)        
Sander Levin (D-MI)        
John Lewis (D-GA)        
Dan Lipinski (D-IL)        
Dave Loebsack (D-IA)        
Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)        
Ben Ray Luján (D-NM)        
Michelle Lujan Grisham (D-NM)        
Stephen Lynch (D-MA)        
Carolyn Maloney (D-NY)        
Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY)        
Doris Matsui (D-CA)        
Betty McCollum (D-MN)        
Jim McDermott (D-WA)        
James McGovern (D-MA)        
David McKinley (R-WV)        
Jerry McNerney (D-CA)        
Gregory Meeks (D-NY)        
Gwen Moore (D-WI)        
Seth Moulton (D-MA)        
Tim Murphy (R-PA)        
Jerrold Nadler (D-NY)        
Richard Neal (D-MA)        
Beto O'Rourke (D-TX)        
Bill Pascrell, Jr. (D-NJ)        
Donald Payne, Jr. (D-NJ)        
Ed Perlmutter (D-CO)        
Collin Peterson (D-MN)        
Pedro Pierluisi (D-PR)        
Chellie Pingree (D-ME)        
Stacey Plaskett (D-VI)        
Mark Pocan (D-WI)        
Jared Polis (D-CO)        
Charles Rangel (D-NY)        
Kathleen Rice (D-NY)        
Cedric Richmond (D-LA)        
Dennis Ross (R-FL)        
Bobby Rush (D-IL)        
Gregorio Sablan (D-MP)        
Loretta Sanchez (D-CA)        
Linda Sánchez (D-CA)        
John Sarbanes (D-MD)        
Jan Schakowsky (D-IL)        
Adam Schiff (D-CA)        
David Scott (D-GA)        
Robert Scott (D-VA)        
Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ)        
Albio Sires (D-NJ)        
Louise Slaughter (D-NY)        
Adam Smith (D-WA)        
Jackie Speier (D-CA)        
Eric Swalwell (D-CA)        
Mark Takai (D-HI)        
Mark Takano (D-CA)        
Dina Titus (D-NV)        
Paul Tonko (D-NY)        
Niki Tsongas (D-MA)        
Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)        
Marc Veasey (D-TX)        
Filemon Vela (D-TX)        
Tim Walz (D-MN)        
Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ)        
Peter Welch (D-VT)        
Frederica Wilson (D-FL)        
John Yarmuth (D-KY)        
Don Young (R-AK)