Advocacy Alert: March 14

Office of Museum Services Funding Letters–Deadlines Extended in the House and Senate

The deadlines have been extended for legislators to sign appropriations letters in support of the Office of Museum Services (OMS) at the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). These letters play a key role in annual funding decisions, and are the best opportunity for U.S. Senators and Representatives to assist this small but vital program. The deadline for the Senate letter has been extended through TOMORROW, MARCH 15, while the House deadline is extended through MONDAY, MARCH 21.
These letters have built good momentum so far, but museum advocates can make a big difference for the cause with one final push!

Here’s how you can help today:

  1. Use the Alliance’s tools to look up your legislators,
  2. Check the lists below to see if your Senators and Representative have agreed to sign on to the letter yet, and
  3. Ask your legislators to sign on, if they haven’t already.
If you joined us for Museums Advocacy Day, NOW is the time to follow-up directly with any congressional staff you met whose offices are not listed below. Thank you for your advocacy on behalf of museums!

Current SENATE Letter Signers:
Gillibrand (NY), Baldwin (WI), Blumenthal (CT), Booker (NJ), Boxer (CA), Brown (OH), Cardin (MD), Coons (DE), Durbin (IL), Franken (MN), Heinrich (NM), Hirono (HI), Kaine (VA), King (ME), Klobuchar (MN), Leahy (VT), Manchin (WV), Markey (MA), Menendez (NJ), Murphy (CT), Peters (MI), Reed (RI), Sanders (VT), Schatz (HI), Schumer (NY), Shaheen (NH), Stabenow (MI), Tester (MT), Warren (MA), Whitehouse (RI), Wyden (OR)
Current HOUSE Letter Signers: Tonko (NY), Lance (NJ), Slaughter (NY), McKinley (WV), Adams (NC), Barr (KY), Beatty (OH), Beyer (VA), Blumenauer (OR), Brownley (CA), Bustos (IL), Butterfield (NC), Capuano (MA), Cárdenas (CA), Carson (IN), Cartwright (PA), Castor (FL), Chu (CA), Cicilline (RI), Clark (MA), Clarke (NY), Cleaver (MO), Coffman (CO), Cohen (TN), Collins (NY), Connolly (VA), Conyers (MI), Courtney (CT), Cramer (ND), Danny Davis (IL), Davis (CA), DeGette (CO), Delaney (MD), Deutch (FL), Dingell (MI), Doggett (TX), Donovan (NY), Doyle (PA), Edwards (MD), Ellison (MN), Ellmers (NC), Engel (NY), Eshoo (CA), Esty (CT), Foster (IL), Garamendi (CA), Grayson (FL), Grijalva (AZ), Gutiérrez (IL), Hastings (FL), Heck (WA), Higgins (NY), Hinojosa (TX), Hurd (TX), Jackson Lee (TX), Jeffries (NY), Johnson (GA), Keating (MA), Kennedy (MA), Kind (WI), Kirkpatrick (AZ), Langevin (RI), Larson (CT), Lee (CA), Levin (MI), Lewis (GA), Lipinski (IL), Lofgren (CA), Lujan (NM), Lynch (MA), Carolyn Maloney (NY), Sean Patrick Maloney (NY), Matsui (CA), McCollum (MN), McDermott (WA), McGovern (MA), McNerney (CA), Miller (MI), Moore (WI), Moulton (MA), Murphy (PA), Nadler (NY), Neal (MA), Norcross (NJ), Norton (DC), O’Rourke (TX), Pascrell (NJ), Payne (NJ), Peterson (MN), Pingree (ME), Pocan (WI), Rangel (NY), Rice (NY), Richmond (LA), Rush (IL), Linda Sanchez (CA), Loretta Sanchez (CA), Schakowsky (IL), Scott (VA), Sinema (AZ), Sires (NJ), Smith (WA), Speier (CA), Swalwell (CA), Takano (CA), Thompson (CA), Titus (NV), Tsongas (MA), Van Hollen (MD), Veasey (TX), Vela (TX), Velazquez (NY), Watson Coleman (NJ), Welch (VT), Wilson (FL), Wilson (SC), Yarmuth (KY), Young (AK) 

P.S. For more information on how you can be an advocate for museums, see our most recent advocacy alert.