Accreditation Commission

The Accreditation Commission is the body responsible for making independent decisions regarding accredited status. It meets three times per year and is made up of museum professionals whose collective experience and expertise represent the range of diversity in the museum field.

Commissioners are museum professional with significant leadership level experience who have an understanding of a wide range of museum operations, have experience with accreditation, and demonstrate a commitment to standards and building excellence across the field. Commissioners serve in a volunteer capacity for an initial term of five years and may be reappointed. See the full position description to learn more. 

This year’s Commission nomination period is now closed. The next nomination period will open Spring 2017.

Current Commissioners

Listed with terms of service:

  • Burt Logan, Executive Director and CEO, Ohio History Connection, Columbus (Chair, 2012–2015; 2015-2017)
  • Amy Bartow-Melia, MacMillan Associate Director for Audience Engagement, National Museum of American History, Washington, DC (2015-2019)
  • Ann Fortescue, Executive Director, Springfield Museum of Art, OH (2015-2018)
  • James Gilson, Former Vice President and General Counsel, Los Angeles County Museum of Natural History Foundation, CA (2016-2020)

  • Jill Hartz, Executive Director, Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art, University of Oregon, Eugene (2017-2021)
  • Lourdes Ramos, Executive Director, Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico, San Juan  (2015-2019)
  • Kenneth Schutz, The Dr. William Huizingh Executive Director, Desert Botanical Garden, Phoenix, AZ  (2015-2019)
  • Todd Smith, Director and Chief Executive Officer, Orange County Museum of Art, Newport Beach, CA (2016-2020)
  • William Tramposch, Gosnell Executive Director, Nantucket Historical Association, MA  (2015-2018)